House of Cards 5 (2017)

Plot: The fifth season follows Frank and Claire Underwood (Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright) and their attempt to win the 2016 presidential election against Republican Party nominee Will Conway (Joel Kinnaman). The Underwoods are also faced with mounting insubordination from staff and congressional colleagues as the threat of impeachment looms.

Cast: Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright, Michael Kelly, Neve Campbell, Joel Kinnaman, Campbell Scott, Patricia Clarkson, Dominique McElligott, Kim Dickens, Paul Sparks, Lars Mikkelsen, Jayne Atkinson, Derek Cecil, Larry Pine, Michel Gill, Curtiss Cook, Reed Birney, Boris McGiver, Damian Young, Colm Feore, Korey Jackson, Wendy Moniz, Malcolm Madera & Gerald McRaney.

Directors: Robin Wright, Agnieszka Holland, Roxann Dawson, Alik Sakharov, Michael Morris & Daniel Minahan.

Writers: Melissa James Gibson, Frank Pugliese, Laura Eason, Kenneth Lin, John Mankiewicz, Tian Jun Gu & Bill Kennedy.

Filming Dates: Filming began in July 20, 2016 and finished in February 14, 2017.

Release Date: Netflix released the season in its entirety on May 30, 2017.

Frank Pugliese and Melissa James Gibson took over as showrunners in place of Beau Willimon, who departed the series in season 4.

During early production of the sixth season in October 2017, sexual misconduct allegations against Kevin Spacey surfaced. Netflix briefly halted production and made the decision in November 2017 to part ways with the actor, marking the fifth season as Spacey final appearance in the series.

Robin Wright as Director & Executive Producer

This is the second season of Robin Wright as executive producer of ‘House of Cards’.

Also, after directing 7 episodes between season 2 and season 4, this fifth season Robin Wright directs two new episodes of the show: Chapter 64 (Season 5 Episode 12) and Chapter 65 (This is the Season 5 Finale and also the last appearance of Kevin Spacey).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *